The wealth of a nation is said to depend on the health of its citizens Yet in the modern knowledge based economies of the world education is more and more being seen as the main force in the development of all countries In what extent do you agree or disa

Although quite an incompatible match, some modern thinkers have started comparing the relevance and value of education and health in the progress of a nation. Some people stress that in the modern perspective knowledge plays a pivotal role in developing an economy while there are some sections which strongly believe that health is always a true indicator of the prosperity of a nation. Gaining knowledge has been pitched as a pivotal factor by some thinkers as they think that a society which is literate has the ability to brush aside useless conservative thought and superstitions. This helps a society to even look after its health better than others. A progressive society armed with educated populace generates more opportunities for development as it is always aware of its rights and obligations. Such a community adapts itself faster to the changing conditions and works positively towards achieving objectives of riches and prosperity. Moreover, a society or a nation with an abundance of educated inhabitants generates opportunities in various areas and component sectors of the economy. The skills accumulated by local populace encourages them to take up challenging jobs in the modern paradigm and some of the more enterprising people venture into establishing businesses which not only helps in boosting economic scenario but also helps in generating employment. On the other hand, some sections strongly advocate the relevance of a healthy society. They contend that if the local population suffers because of low health index, it can never prosper as the families, individuals and governments must allocate more financial resources to looking after the ailing people. Furthermore, education can only be absorbed effectively by a healthy individual. To conclude, I personally feel that although educating a society helps in boosting the economic status of a nation, the importance of health can never be ignored.