The use of smartphones is decreasing our collective intelligence because we are reliant on the technology not on our own minds.

Owing to advancement in technology, many people are dependent on gadgets. Many notions that, use of smartphones has produced a detrimental impact on our intellectual level, as we are dependent on them, instead of our minds. I partially agree to this statement. Although, smartphones have created ease in life of mankind, dependency on them has harmful effect on our intellect. It is the nature of humans to opt for things that creates comfort in life without considering perilous outcome, this is the case with this ubiquitous technology. As an illustration, youngsters nowadays defer to do manual simple calculation by brainstorming as they can simply get the answer by clicking a button via online calculator app present in phone. Hence it is common to opt for comfort rather than intellectual thinking as new generation is becoming dependent on hand held technologies. In contrast, to dangerous effects of dependency on smartphones, in reality, it boosts our memory. Consequently, producing positive impact on our mental health. For instance, a study done in Pakistan revealed that people who continuously set reminders on their phone enhances their memory as continuous repetition has profound impact on spatial awareness. This method was considered classical in ancient times to create productive thinking and long term memories. Therefore, healthy benefits of smartphone technology must be taken into consideration. To conclude, in my opinion, dependency on hand held technologies has positive as well as negative aspects to consider. Although it defers from reasonable thinking, it also enhances our memory process and strengthen it.