The first smartphone was invented in 1992. By the year 2023 there may be as many as 2. 5billions smartphones in the world. The use of smartphones is decreasing our intelligencebecause we are reliant on the technology and not our own minds.

Nobody could deny that smartphones have revolutionized our lives, enabling us to access information and interact socially in a way which our grandparents’ generation would have considered unthinkable. The question of whether these devices have actually made us smarter or diminished our thinking skills is certainly worthy of debate. On balance, I would argue that their influence has been malign. Technophiles point to the fact that smartphones can offer us opportunities to be cleverer. They allow unprecedented access to a vast array of data from which we can learn, as well as giving us the chance to engage with individuals whose wisdom and thought-provoking ideas can stimulate us. Furthermore, users can take advantage of brain-training apps and programs which let them discover even the most obscure information by merely tapping a screen. However, I would contend that it is precisely this ease of access which should concern us. We no longer need to be able to do mental arithmetic, recall the name of the discoverer of penicillin or even remember our cousin’s birthday. Our brains are effectively becoming redundant and humans are rapidly losing basic cognitive functions and memory skills. This becomes obvious whenever you spot a person who has forgotten their electronic gadget and is incapable of calculating the shopping bill or planning and carrying out routine and basic tasks. We should all be alarmed that, as a species, we struggle to store, retain and retrieve valuable information without the aid of a piece of technology. It would be ridiculous to argue that the influence of smartphones has been entirely negative. Yet, to some extent, it is fair to describe them as insidious. I accept that smartphone technology is here to stay, but would urge manufacturers to re-design their products so that they complement intelligent thought rather than replacing it.