The use of mobile phones has increased rapidly in the twenty-first century. Additionally, cell phones can now be used for many purposes besides making phone calls. What are the advantages and disadvantages of cell phones?

In today's world cell phones offer various opportunities rather than merely phone calls, therefore the number of users has significantly increased. This essay will discuss the positives and negatives of possessing a mobile phone. Firstly, mobiles can be beneficial to keep in touch with people living away from us. Formerly, the major forms of communication were letters and telegrams which required a great deal of time to be delivered and many individuals found it difficult to receive news from secluded relatives. On several occasions, the delivery never reached the required destination due to lack of transport. Today, cellular phones support video chats that help us to not solely hear our relative voices but also see their faces. Secondly, mobile phones are fruitful for study purposes, as just a click can provide the required information. Furthermore, students prefer seeking solutions from YouTube lessons owing to the fact that the brain stores information from images and videos faster than paperbacks. According to the latest study in America, 55% of citizens would rather choose to read an e-book on their cell phone instead of using a classical book. On the other hand, using smart phones in a wrong manner may be detrimental for society and especially children who are becoming addicted to social media, leaving homework in second plan. In addition, labourers could also lose the job because of distractions that come from mobile phones. Privacy loss is undeniable when owning a mobile phone for we can always be contacted. For instance, receiving numerous missed calls from unknown contacts made me change my phone number several times. In conclusion, smartphones are essential for human interactions and also effective for study purposes. However, dedicating too much time on them can affect people's lifestyle.