Many governments in the world spend large amounts of money on art which helps to develop quality in people's lives. However, governments should spend money on other things rather than art.

Art in the form of literature, theatre and visual arts represents the cultural heritage of societies. Societies with rich customs in art and poetry are considered more urbane and advanced. Governments around the globe invest a huge sum of money on art in an attempt to bring eminence in people's life. I don't agree with this and believe that funding should be made on other domains that are more critical in human life such and employment, health, education and sports. Government spending money on art would be worthy only if people show interest in it, like art galleries or poetry. In few countries, sports is more appealing than art. For instance, Football, which has more followers than people admiring sculptures or other art. Secondly, with the current recession all over the world, people are finding hard to raise their families. The government in such situation should create opportunities for more employment rather than funding projects to improve the art in the society. For instance, administrator of Karachi Metropolitan spends thousands of rupees to revamp old art galleries in order to make them more stylish and modern. The same funding could have been used to improve the lives of art gallery workers living below the poverty line. Thirdly, the government should invest more on health and educational sector. There are many regions where people have no access to clean water or educational institutes. Building educational and medical institutes would bring more improvement in their life than constructing a museum to preserve the local heritage of that region. To conclude, I believe that is an unjust affirmation that art brings quality in one's life, and I agree money should be invested in more compelling challenges. Investment on art would only benefit a small minority and with time government will recognise that excellence in human lives can only be enhanced by providing decent opportunities in life, not a sculpture.