Some people believe that the higher a product is priced, the more likely it is that people will want to buy it. What other factors influence people to buy a product?

Nowadays, we have countless manufacturers and numerous products to choose from. This creates hard competition between the companies. As a customer, there are several features we focus upon before choosing a product. Price is one of the main factors since often people assume that if the product is at a higher price, it either belongs to a well known brand or it is of good quality. Previously, we had very limited selections to choose from. However, because of globalization, we now have famous brands available everywhere. Examples include Nike, Puma and Addidas. People believe that branded products are of good quality and have a longer durability. Secondly, price comes in to the picture. It is true that if a product is priced high, the standard and the quality of raw materials used should be higher. Every customer seeks quality for the amount they spend. In addition, brands and price tags are used as ways to exhibit elements of social status. Some of the traditional brands spend huge amounts on advertisements, and in the modern world people are easily notified about advertisements in manifold ways such as newspapers, online, and via Television commercials. As a result, communities easily get attracted to the products and brands that are inviting them to spend money on their goods. Last but not the least, there are many celebrities who act as brand ambassadors for products, and convince their fans to use them. For instance, the famous singer and actress, Selena Gomez, has acted a brand ambassador for the Pantene shampoo which had actually tempted many of her fans to switch their shampoos to Pantene too. In summary, we live in a world where advertisements impact consumers. However, the impact is limited to some extent. In my opinion, consumers will analyse their needs before choosing a product.