The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut arts and music out of that curriculum so that children can focus on the useful subjects such as information technology.

There is no doubt these days that one of the fundamental roles of school is to develop children for the modern (present day) world. The question is, should the education system focus on the useful subjects and ignore others such as arts and music? In this essay, I’m going to discuss whether is it essential to incorporate both music and arts into the education system in schools or not and I will try to draw a reasonable conclusion. On one hand, some people believe that the school curriculum should be relied on the academical and practical subjects such as science, information technology, mathematics, and history, rather it focusses in other non-useful areas including arts and music. The reason support this given claim is that not all students show the same interest in music and arts. To illustrate further, both music and arts could be learned outside the school in private institutions, which are specialized in these two areas. Therefore, the school is the only place to teach academic and practical subjects. On the other hand, others believe that arts and music should be incorporated into school syllabus. This is because the school should introduce these two areas to their students, therefore, they can realize whether they have an interest in one of them or not. Furthermore, music can increase the students' intelligence. For example, some research shows that a person who plays musical instrument well has better opportunity to master academic subjects quickly because tones that they produce in the music can stimulate their creativity, imagination and comprehension. On conclusion, although some people agree that the school system should be focused on practical subjects and remove others like music and arts, I totally agree that both arts and music are equally important as information technology, hence, they should be introduced in the school syllabus especially in the elementary school.