The tendency for human beings to copy others can be shown in the poplarity of fashion in clothes and other consumer goods.

Some people are fond of buying new gadgets, phones, or laptops. Is this a good or bad thing? Discuss your opinion. The latest technology in new gadgets, phones, and laptops makes them attractive to some buyers. While these contraptions are very efficient and good, they also cripple our mental agility. This essay will discuss why making a habit of buying new instruments will soon enslave buyers, thus making them incompetent without them. Appliances are invented and refined to make our labour-intensive tasks simple and quick. They help people be rid of mundane tasks, which are tedious and tiring, so that they can be free to carry out more gratifying activities. For instance, until the 1970s, when the dishwasher became common in households in North America, dishes were washed by hand - a time consuming, messy and rough task. Hence, purchasing time saving devices is good and frees us to be better employed. Conversely, while gizmos like today’s smart-phone with an inbuilt phonebook have made connectivity a breeze, they also do away with the need to remember important phone numbers, which is a dangerous development. For example, a 2010 study in the UK, found that more than half the people in the research did not know their partner’s phone number, which suggests that reliance on technology is harming memory. Therefore, mental laziness is the by-product of using highly evolved tools, consequently creating an alarming dependence on them. In conclusion, buying electronic devices is tempting to make our lives easier. However, with the convenience of technology comes the consequence of giving away our abilities to the instrument at our fingertips. Ultimately, our fascination for electronic apparatus is hardly worth the sacrifice of our mental skills.