It's been seen that reading for pleasure develops imaginations and better language skills than to watch TV.

It has always been a great debate whether the pleasure reading or the watching TV improves the creativity, positive imagination power and language skill for an individual. Some people think that reading is better for enhancing positive thinking while other groups say that watching TV is more beneficial. I completely agree that the thinking capability and language skill of a person are better developed by reading than watching television. First of all, reading for pleasure grasps the attention of a person more than the TV can. Most of the people who read a lot have a better thinking capability and thus become innovative and more creative. While people do not pay utmost attention while watching TV as they often change the channels to find something more interesting. Television improves the listening and speaking skills. Reading and the analytical ability of an individual are developed more quickly by reading books. It is obvious that reading books, magazines, journals or even websites give much opportunity to learn something more accurately than watching television. In the case of pleasure reading, the reader always has the option to read whatever interests him/ her most. On the other hand, television programmes are broadcasted according to the people who maintain that. Television programs are much more commercial and always try to produce programs keeping the commercial aspects in mind. Good books are always the better alternative in learning new things, developing skills and imagination. Again, the reading and writing skill of a person cannot be greatly developed unless this person is a professional writer or reads a lot. Only watching television is not a good choice who wants to develop their language skills. Finally, good books and other reading materials come with the thoughtfulness of writers and with the historical facts and events which are much more thought-provoking than the TV programmes. People often tend to watch entertaining programs like movies than watching a historical program on the History channel. On the other hand, when people read books or other materials, they read only things that can keep their attention. A book, thus, is a better option for everyone to learn more, develop imagination and improve language skills, especially in reading and writing areas.