It's been seen that reading for pleasure develops imaginations and better language skills than to watch TV.

Some people believe that reading is better than watching television since it improves people's creativity and imagination, and their literature skill as well. To a certain extent, I would agree with the statement, but I do believe that watching television at the proportionate time could also bring positive values to our mind and language as well. On the one hand, it is true that reading brings a lot of benefits for mankind. Despite that people read books or articles for pleasure or study, it is a fact that reading will enhance people's literacy and develop their imaginative thinking. As there is no visual display in reading, it means that people have to imagine by themselves about the event that is informed in the article or book, and definitely, it will improve people's creativity. Besides that, by doing a lot of reading, people will get used to seeing proper grammar, formal languages and new collocations, therefore it will gradually improve the reader's language capabilities. On the other hand, watching television at the right portion and only watching appropriate programs also bring benefits for people. Some television programs trigger their viewer's imaginative thinking, such as National Geographic or Discovery Channel. And then there are other programs such as BBC News or CNN which could also affect people's way of communication. Therefore, watching television could also bring positive effects to their watchers. In conclusion, it is said that the reading has more positive effects on human creative thinking and language skills. To a certain point, I would agree with it, but I personally think that watching television has some positive things as well. It could improve our imaginative thinking, communication skills and enhance our knowledge, but we must select the appropriate programs and watch them proportionately.