The rising levels of traffic congestion in many big cities around the world can cause the decline in the quality of life in cities. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Increasing traffic congestion is an inescapable condition in large and growing metropolitan areas across the world. Over recent years, this problem has become one of the most pressing issues because it has profoundly affected the lives of individuals especially in many big cities. The following paragraphs will examine the causes of traffic congestion and recommend some practical solutions that can be taken into account. Traffic congestion is caused by many reasons. One of the major reasons is the rising number of vehicles on roads caused by the higher number of population and the development of economy. In other words, with the economic development in big cities, a lot of people from rural areas move to cities and many of them including urban people want their own personal transport to help them commute conveniently. As the number of cars rises, the chance of congestion also increases. Another reason is that public transportation facilities in some cities such as Bangkok and Manila are inadequate and poorly managed; therefore, people choose to drive their own cars. To solve this problem, there are several things that the government could do. Firstly, the state government should provide convenient, safe and clean public transport facilities in order to encourage people to leave their cars at homes and use public transports instead. Secondly, roads and highways should be expanded to support the increasing number of vehicles. In addition, the government could promote carpool and provide bicycle lane which can bring a lot of benefits for the people and the city in terms of reducing traffic and pollution. Finally, the government should develop new industrial and commercial areas outside the city so that people could move to these areas. This can help reduce the density problem in metropolitan areas. In conclusion, traffic congestion is mainly caused by a dramatic rise of the car users and poor public transportation. The government and public should cooperate to solve this problem in a long term by reducing number of vehicles and using more public transport.