The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an increasing popularity for junk food among working class people because of the ease in preparing them. The increase in ready made food has aided individuals in keeping up with the fast paced lifestyle in modern times. This essay will discuss the benefits of eating convenience foods as well as point out to the fact that it is dangerous to keep eating ready made food despite the advantages. Most young adults settle for convenience foods mainly because of the ease to prepare them and the time it saves them in preparing such meal. Studies have shown that 89 percent of the American population between the ages of 24-49 prefers to eat snacks for lunch since it gives them the flexibility to work without going through the stress of grocery shopping or preparing an actual meal. For example policemen in the New York State Department prefer a donut and a cup of coffee during working hours. in addition, it saves the time of working class people and makes it easy for them to work and have a meal without losing many working hours to cooking. Yhe above points shows that it is better for working class people to eat ready made food than settling for a home cooked meal. However, the disadvantages to this trend far outweighs its advantages. While some people will argue that convenience food saves time, it is worthy of mention that most of these foods are unhealthy as they contain lots of sugar and cholesterol. Obesity which is a major problem in big cities can be traced to the consumption of convenience foods. It was pointed out in an article from Dietary Journal that 80 per cent of obese people consume junk food everyday. Since the figure is on the increase annually, it would be wisdom if people stop eating convenience foods. In conclusion, the increase in convenience foods can be traced to a modern lifestyle. While it is easy to prepare and saves time, it is also detrimental to public health and hence should be avoided