The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, processed food has become increasingly popular among all parts of the world. The rise of fast food is helping many individuals in order to cope up with modern lifestyle. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of consuming frozen edibles and will explain why positives of this trend does not outweigh any negatives. To begin with, one of the obvious advantages of precooked items is that, they save time instead of cooking for hours. Most of the individuals are piled up with work and does not have time to cook for themselves. These people include students, working professionals etc. In addition to that, these kind of foods, not only saves time, but also money, when compared to other food items that are available in the market. For example, I am working as an engineer where I need to work more than 10 hours and does not have time to cook, however packaged food is helping to survive for the day. Therefore, the rise of fast foods has been helping people to keep pace with the change in lifestyle. Turning to the other side, there are definite disadvanatages by following this trend. One of the drawbacks is that the precooked edibles significantly impact health when consumed for years. This is due to the fact that, the preservatives used in it in order to increase the shelf life can be detrimental to human body. A professor at university of Alberta says that, "70 per cent of the individual who consume ready-made items are prone to different types of cancers". Thus, it has a substantial impact on human health. To conclude, the demand for convenience food in recent times has increased because of current lifestyle. The strengths of this way saving time, money, however, it is impacting people's health. Personally, I believe that the weaknesses of consuming precooked food eventually outweigh any positives.