The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The growth in pre-processed food has benefited individuals to maintain the pace of the hectic and contemporary way of life. In this essay, an attempt shall be made to outline the merits and demerits of this current situation and also verify if the benefits thereof are more than the shortfalls or otherwise. To begin with, lifestyle has changed to a maddening pace and time is what we lack. Firstly, The cooking time comes down considerably because of semi cooked foods. . The stage of pre-preparations can be eliminated, saving a lot of time involved. For example, the noodles are fried in oil for a long time, we can prepare this with only boiling it in water. Secondly, shelf life of the convenience food is always mentioned in the packaging and has a considerable shelf life. As the packaged food is usually packed in hygienic and sterile conditions with definite shelf life. For instance, oats are packed in airtight packages with a shelf life of more than 6 months. Thirdly, Tracking micronutrients are easier when using processed foods. Due to various regulations of food inspection authorities the micronutrients are displayed as part of the packaging. The backside of the packages contains a description of the ingredients used and a box stating the amount of carbohydrates, proteins, fats etc. On the contrary, over a period of time people get various physical ailments. As the canned food uses preservatives which are not natural in some cases this causes physical illness. The high content of sodium, chemicals used for pre-processing food to increase shelf life causes a lot of diseases like hypertension. There is a study which finds one cup of noodles contains more sodium than required for a person for the entire day. Causing bloating and water retention in him. Weighing the above advantages and disadvantages we see that it's more useful to use packaged food with not over reliance on it.