The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people argue that the growth of convenience foods has assisted them to be at the same pace as the modern lifestyle. In my opinion, although there are few benefits of it such as it requires less preparation time and is a low-cost food, the drawbacks that it has a more detrimental effect on our health outweighs the advantages. One of the main pros of convenience foods is that it is extremely quick to prepare, requiring no long pre-preparation steps, for instance, marination of the meat or resting the dough. In other words, the food, in the big factories, is prepared in such a manner that it is almost ready to eat and simply requires to be either fried or heated in some cases. For example, ready to eat pasta needs to be added to warm water and stirred for a few minutes, before it ready to be consumed, helping people save time in cooking food so that they can dedicate their time in other chores. The second major benefit is that it has a low-cost value, which makes it an ideal modern-day food. Since the food is prepared in big factories in huge amounts, it is comparatively cheaper than food available in restaurants. For instance, ready to eat pasta may cost almost one-third of what it may cost in a restaurant. Another benefit is that it can be preserved for a longer period. However, these preservatives have a negative effect on our health, making it not advisable to be consumed regularly. In conclusion, despite being cheap and requiring less preparation time, the convenience food contains harmful preservatives, thus I believe the advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages.