The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of modern lifestyle. What are the advantages and disadvantage of the same?

Increasing production of different varieties of ready to eat meal helps people in keeping up with the high pace life. Packaged food help in saving time and it is easily portable to different places, but there are also some drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, availability of convenience food has many benefits to offer. Firstly, people can save their lots of precious time, which they otherwise used to spend in the kitchen, making meals for the family. Earlier working people used to face many difficulties in finding time for the family, but now parents can utilize this cooking time in other activities such as helping children with their homework or playing with kids. Secondly, it is advantageous to use packaged food as it can be easily carried to any place of the world. For instance, vegan people, who visit a foreign country for any business trip, where vegetarian food is not available, can carry and survive on such food items. On the other hand, consuming counter food has some downsides too. One of the possible problems with this is, it is not as healthy as homemade foods. Packaged food contains many preservatives, which might be harmful for human body, if consumed regularly. Another issue is, it is not pocket friendly and can be unaffordable for a few people. If food is cooked at home, then it costs much lesser than the ready made food items, thus people can save their money by preparing meals for themselves. In conclusion, while there are some benefits of convenience food, daily consumption of it can also lead to some serious health issues and can be a burden on people's pocket.