The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of a modern lifestyle. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, ready-to-eat food has aided people in managing their fast-paced lifestyles smoothly. While there are certain advantages of having convenience food such as low time as well as energy consumption, I believe that the disadvantages involving various health problems and addiction outweigh them. Talking about the positives first, the most obvious benefit that ready-made food brings is one of saving time and energy. In other words, such food items require much lesser time and effort as compared to the traditional ways of cooking food. Frozen food products, for instance, are most commonly used in some developed nations nowadays where the working-class citizens can hardly spare any time for cooking. Additionally, convenient food items are easy to prepare and do not entail special culinary skills. Hence, such food products are more popular among the young generation who just grab a quick bite and rush to their work. Coming to the negatives of the rise in popularity of processed eatables, physical health issues are prevailing faster than ever before. The canned or dehydrated food items are less nutritious than home-cooked food, and as a consequence, causes varied diseases such as obesity, indigestion, and heart problems. To illustrate, as per a recent survey report, more than 70 percent of the Americans are considered obese as they mostly prefer eating fast food over home-cooked food. Furthermore, such eating habits often give rise to addiction as fast food items pamper our taste buds, in turn, making people incline even more towards an unhealthy lifestyle. In conclusion, despite the benefits of a rise in convenience food such as quick and easy preparation, the adverse physical health impacts of having such items should not be ignored. In my view, there are more disadvantages to having ready-made food than any number of advantages these can bring.