As most people spend a major of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Job amusement is believed to be an important aspect of one’s self-comfort and a happy life. To be satisfied with a job, many expectations need to be fulfilled and it is a matter of debate whether a job pleasure exists or not. So how do we define job fulfilment, and which elements are essential for an agreeable task? Firstly, an individual should choose a job that matches his skill set and where he could find mental vindication. A job that provides a sense of fulfilment, secure working environment and pays well is a desired job for many. Traditionally, a job that has a social status, better pay scale and gives freedom to an employee is said to be a dream job. Unfortunately, not all of us have such dream jobs. Some other important factors like adequate holidays, compensations, learning opportunity, career growth, a decent boss, nice colleagues, job security and fair working climate are often considered the most important aspects of a job. I believe a nice job should guarantee progress - both skills and remuneration. For example, training courses that help employee gain new skills would help improve his career and therefore benefit his workplace and his community as well. Since job satisfaction and expectation of employee change with time, it is almost unrealistic to define a job which is perfectly and completely satisfactory for all. While some people are unsatisfied with their jobs because of poor payment, others complain about the future prospect. Even if these criteria are met at a job, some people would start complaining about other aspects. That is why it is quite unrealistic that each and every employee would be happy in their workplace. In conclusion, some common factors like salary, respect, learning opportunity, work environment and job security could be influential aspects of job satisfaction, but it is quite impossible for all employees to be happy in their job environment.