The table displays the average monthly rainfall for the year in five cities of the world.

It is pertinent for children to know the distinction between good and bad early in life. Therefore, punishment is commonly viewed as a useful vehicle required to achieving this objective. In my opinion, while I completely agree with this viewpoint that punishing children is vital to teaching them to distinguish what is wrong from what is right, the manner of deterrents I advocate for erring children are reprimanding them verbally and denying them certain privileges over a period of time. I believe punishment is a viable tool that is necessary in training a child to differentiate between what is acceptable and unacceptable in society. The compelling reason for this is because when you do not rod the rod from mischievous people, they instinctively put in effort to make amends as it feels wrong to continue in that way, knowing it will attract similar reaction the next time they repeat such action. Consequently, learning from their own experience of how unpalatable these treatments are, children subconsciously decide not to tow that path again. One major punitive measure I recommend to parents and tutors for their wards, which is requisite to raising children with excellent moral, is through scolding them where necessary. In other words, whenever children do something stupid, parents should not excuse them, but rather constructively use words to put them in their rightful space. Meanwhile, words are especially potent in this guise as they are capable of moulding the character of these individuals in their formative years. Children want parental approval and praise, and if they are not given, they make a conscious effort to earn it by doing what will get them in their parents’ good book. Furthermore, depriving children of some privileges, which they usually enjoy, when they misbehave is another effective way of teaching them this difference. For instance, depriving teenagers of that extra vacation or game time because they have betrayed their guardians’ trust through a sheer act of disobedience has been shown by research to yield good results, considering children will always do things that would afford them the luxury of enjoying these occasions. In conclusion, it is often thought that punishment is a veritable way to correcting children in order to learn to separate good from evil. It is my view that this is absolutely imperative because it provides them the personal experience that they could use as guide in making right and socially acceptable decision. Although there are various type of punishments that could work, verbally correcting children and withholding some benefits from them are the two leading approaches of actualizing this goal without causing any harm to their young impressionable minds.