The responsibility for the environment rests with the individual and not only with the government.

The environment plays an imperative role in the survival of living organisms. The environment has become a major concern over the last couple of decades, resulting in several debates on who should be responsible for ensuring its sustenance for our future generations. Is it the government or an individual who has to protect it? I profoundly believe that individuals should take the initiation to save our environment. To start with, people should be responsible for the waste they produce in their day to day life. To elaborate, if people throw harmful rubbish in society, it may lead to land pollution and thus create disturbances for other organisms which depend on land resources for food. For instance, organisms such as cows, goats, and other animals rely on the food which is available on the land and if the rubbish includes plastics, it may damage their digestive systems and this, in turn, would create ecological imbalances. Hence, people should be cautious of what kind of waste materials are thrown in the dumping yards. Additionally, the water bodies have to be protected by an individual. It is because, industries, which are run by people dump the wastes into rivers and nearby lakes which ultimately causes health issues to the people who consume it. For instance, the higher authorities of such industries should impose high taxes or set up laws that ban the toxic emissions from factories directly into watercourses. This could cause less air and water pollution which could guarantee the good health of citizens. Therefore, it is the prime duty of an individual to protect our environment. To conclude, environmental problems could be severe if we neglect, hence it has to be addressed immediately. I strongly believe that an individual is the one who can bring change into society by putting little effort in their daily life to see a huge difference.