The government should allocate more funding to teaching sciences rather than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress.

Some people believe that the government should invest more time and money in science-related allocation rather than in other subjects so as to boost the growth, progress of a nation. To a certain extent, I agree that scientific developments play an important role in the evolution of humanity. However, I also think that we had better not disregard other subjects. The following essay takes a look at both sides of the argument. To start with, science is the key to a modern life. The first advantage is that science education helps us have access to more effective facilities and methods of learning. Furthermore, scientific instruments and machinery minimize blue-collar employment, and ease the burdens of the labour force. Also, science makes a great contribution to enhance living standards, mental and physical health quality, transportation and a lot of aspects of people’s lives. The larger expenditure on scientific subjects has a highly trained intellectual workforce. In addition, renewable resources such as wind power and solar energy begin to decrease the planet’s dependence on fossil fuels. On top of that, studying science subjects requires learners to have critical thinking and research skills, boost their scope for creativity and develop a strong mindset. For example, recently, there has been a coronavirus outbreak in China and neighbourhoods including Vietnam. Likewise, thanks to the knowledge of science subjects, the measures have been found to treat this dangerous disease. Nevertheless, if students excessively focus on education of science, they may neglect or underestimate other subjects. Consequently, their knowledge is not comprehensive. Science brings us some drawbacks, and wastes our time. It is common to see both young and old people with their eyes glued to their phones instead of having conversations before the advent of smart device. Therefore, the government ought to have a crucial role to find a balance between different subjects in an attempt to help students become well-rounded. Take for example, art, literature, history, music, and languages are essential in the curriculum to heighten people’s awareness of soft skills, express themselves imaginatively through songs, films and many crafts. What is more, Geography and Biology provide students with information about the natural habitats of wildlife, gain more insight into the significance of the environment. Taking everything into consideration, although breakthroughs in science have led to benefits for most countries, science is not the major contributor to an overall country’s progress. From my point of view, it is also indispensable for other subjects to be taught.