The reason that most people are in debt is the overuse as well as irresponsible use of credit cards. Banks ought to do a background check and only issue credit cards to individuals who have the ability to pay back their debts. What is your opinion?

I agree to the fact that many credit card holders spend extravagantly without realizing the payback terms and conditions. I am going to express my views on how banks can verify one’s capability to repay in the following essay. The credit card is a marketing gimmick in the banking sector, which allows you to spend, without having money in your account. They give the leverage to spend up to a certain limit which was fixed while applying for the credit card based on current income. Usually credit card holders spend more than required because they are not spending actual money and the limit is usually 2 to 3 times of their income, also, not aware about the payback terms and conditions that they need to pay back the spent money with a pre-defined percentage interest in a pre-defined time. Not doing so will attract penalties and higher interest returns. However, bank authorities can make it mandatory to do a proper background check before issuing a credit card. Sales representatives should be penalized if a background check is not done properly. A background check should include the list of existing credit cards, their payback payment patterns, current liabilities, the existing credit card spending pattern, source of income. For example, banks should not issue credit cards to students or fresh professionals as they do not satisfy the basic eligibility criteria’s for holding a credit card. All in all, more and transparent information to credit card seekers and proper verification of eligibility criteria before issuing a credit card will help people use the credit card efficiently and to clear the debts in time.