The quality of life in large cities is decreasing. What would be the reasons behind this? What measures can be taken to resolve this problem?

There is no doubt that with technological enhancements, more and more skyscrapers are built. These days engineers are constructing buildings that look more similar rather than focusing on the heritage. As a result, cities are becoming similar. This essay will discuss some of the reasons and is it positive or negative. Firstly, the reason is, people are looking for efficiency rather than design. This is because of the shortage of land, and increasing population. For instance, most buildings are made to maximize the space. The reflection of cultures through these buildings in not a priority. This is a good change because due to globalisation, cultures are getting mixed anyways. Furthermore, as the population is growing we need more of these skyscrapers. If the government starts prioritizing our heritage over space, they might not be able to provide for every citizen. Secondly, it is a good thing because safety is also a big issue. There are certain guidelines an engineer needs to follow to make them secure. For example, in high earthquake zones, a cube building with low centre of gravity is preferred. In zones with frequent tornadoes, tall structures are avoided. this is the reason why cities throughout the world look alike. This is a positive change because the safety of citizens should be the number one priority. In addition, big companies work across the world, and if they have one working safe building, they copy those same designs everywhere to repeat their success. To conclude, if the technology is improving for the betterment of mankind, we should embrace it. Although the buildings nowadays are not a true reflection of any culture, they are much more efficient and safer, which is a good thing.