The quality of life in large cities is decreasing. What would be the reasons behind this? What measures can be taken to resolve this problem?

It is believed by many people that in metro cities standard of living is getting declined. There are many reasons such as traffic congestion and lack of person communication which are crucial factor behind this degradation. However, there are possible solutions which can help to restore the quality of life of city dwellers. One of the pressing problems of mega cities is traffic Jam. This is because present public transport system is inadequate to serve the increasing population in these places. As a result people often got stuck in traffic congestion. As per recent survey of Mumbai city, more than 67% of people travel by public transport and spend approximately 3 hours for commuting between office and their home. However, this issue can be solved by improving the capacity of existing transport system and introduction of new one. For example, in Japan, after the introduction of underground metro, no more issue of traffic jam is observed. Another related issue is lack of communication among people. Majority of people do not get time to talk to their neighbours and relatives due to lack of time. More often than not, they are running to complete their to-do list of every day and do not get time to share their feelings and emotions with others. As a result, they are often feel isolated. This issue can be resolved by arranging the social gatherings during weekends. Platforms where information about such events should be built and made available. This will aid people to come closer which in turn improve their quality of life. In conclusion, due to the fast life of city dwellers, issues such as lack of personal time and reduced personal communication is diminishing their quality of life, but by building public transportation system they can be solved.