The quality of life in large cities is decreasing. What could be the reasons behind this? What measures can be taken to resolve this problem?

Metropolitan cities face a serious inconvenience to live in, in terms of qualitative aspects of life, nowadays. This essay will discuss the reasons and suggest some solutions to overcome this issue. First and foremost, one of the major reasons that devastate the quality of living in big cities is air pollution. With the burgeoning transportation vehicles used by individuals, the environment has the detrimental carbon emission filled with poisonous gases such as carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide. This worst condition, not only decreases the quality of living, but also reduces the life expectancy of people who live in urban areas. A study by The Environmental Change Institute of The University of Oxford revealed that cities like London, has badly affected by air pollution like never before, which force people to migrate to the countryside. Moreover, there are solutions to improve the way people live by substantial implementation of sustainable energy sources in the automotive sector. This can be explained that replacing diesel, petrol and hybrid vehicles, like cars, with electric vehicles which is pollution free will dramatically control the air pollution and keep it under control. By enabling this, the life span of people will increase and therefore the better quality of life will be restored. A good illustration is that, in Finland, the government has proposed a law to replace all the existing vehicles with electric vehicles by 2025 to move to a sustainable society. In summary, one of the main problems with poor quality of life in big cities is air pollution and this can be solved by enforcing laws to make people use electric vehicles which have no harm to the environment. It is predicted that more and more developed and developed countries in the near future will switch over to sustainable energy resources to decrease the air pollution, thus it significantly improves the quality of life in urbanized places.