The Quality of life in large cities is decreasing. What could be the reasons behind this. What measures can be taken to solve this problem?

With the industrialization, it is inevitable that more people will relate from rural regions to urban cities in order to seek for a better living environment and better opportunities in careers. Therefore, the large migration will contribute to the worsening living environment for local residents due to many factors. Migration from rural to urban area leads to population growth in large cities. High population density will lead to people's more demand of food, housing and entertainment. However, limited resources and services in cities can not meet the residents’ basic needs. Overcrowded people in cities, especially in inner city areas, will contribute poor living environment, high unemployed rate and crime rates. In addition, they also result in traffic congestion in cities due to increase in transport vehicles, especially in private cars. Last but not the least, increasing migration also results in environmental pollution in the regions. More garbages and wastes will produced by over population and industrialization. More exhausted toxic gases will be emitted into the atmosphere by increased public transportation. All these will contribute in the worse living environment for local residents in large cities. With the increasing inevitable migration worldwide, proper methods should be carried out by local governments in order to maintain high quality of urban lifestyle. Firstly, it is necessary for governments to increase budgets in housing and facilities construction to meet the increasing demand of climbing population. More affordable housing will provide a healthy living environment for residents. The development of cities, such as building new houses and facilities and maintaining the building also create jobs in the work force. With proper employment rate, the crime rate might be reduced. In addition, investing money in public transport system improvement will relieve the traffic congestions and attract more residents to use public transport rather than driving their own cars. Therefore, the number of private cars will reduce on the road and traffic congestion will be relieved. As stated above, the quality of life in large cites is affected by increasing migration from rural area to urban cities. The factors which lead to worsen living environment in cities include high density population, dirty living environment, traffic congestion and increasing crime rates. Therefore, in order to maintain the inner city living environment, city governments should increase budgets in housing and facilities construction and improvement of public transport.