Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas now many suffer loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solution…

It is a fact that more elders tend to move into nursing homes or senior houses nowadays rather than living in a house with their children, which causes them to suffer loneliness and health problems. The essay will discuss about the reasons for this phenomenon and list out some solutions. With the  society development, family structure has been involving constantly. This contributes that the elderly live alone or in a nursing home. In the past, people made a living close to their families so that they were able to live under one roof. Therefore, the elderly spent time with their family and led happier lives than before. However, nowadays, in order to secure a job, sometimes,  adults need to relocate to other cities and make a living far away from their family. As a result,   they were unable to take care of their parents or grandparents. As people are turning older, they may suffer from chronic illnesses, such as arthritis, heart disease and so on, which also will diminish their physical capacity. This will affect their daily activities including social activities and contribute to their mental illnesses as well.  Many of them will end up in nursing homes. Tackling the current issues faced by the elderly needs the cooperation of the youth and local governments.   Firstly, it is necessary for younger adults to build up a routine to spend time with their elderlies. For example, people should schedule a fixed time weekly for family time if they live in the same cities or vocation times to travel to visit their family. Secondly, daily conversation via video social media will be one of useful methods to enhance the connection with their parents or grandparents. In addition, encouraging the elderly to participate in various activities that are promoted for them will also help them to stay healthy and happy. In summary, the change of family structure worldwide and busy daily life activities contribute that the elderly lack of their family members' care. This  contributes that the elderly are having a lonely life in current societies. Therefore, encouraging the young to visit the parents or grandparents regularly will help to keep the elder staying healthy. Local governments also should promote more activities which are suitable for senior citizens to joint in.