Task 2: The Quality of life in large cities is decreasing. What could be the reasons behind this. What measures can be taken to solve this problem?

With the industrialization, it is inevitable that more people will migrate to urban cities in order to seek for a better living environment and better opportunities in careers. Therefore,  the large migration will contribute to the worsening living environment for local residents due to many factors. The essay will discuss some these factors. To begin with, migration will increase population in large cities.  High population density will lead to people's more demand of food, housing and recreational facilities. However, it is a fact that limited supplies and services in urban areas cannot meet the residents’ basic needs. Overcrowded people, especially in the inner city areas, will contribute poor hygiene,  high unemployed rate and crime rates.  In addition, they also results in traffic congestion in cities due to increase in transport vehicles, especially private cars. Finally, increasing migration also results in air pollution in the regions.  More harmful gases will be emitted into the atmosphere from vehicles or factories. All these will contribute to a worse living environment for local residents in large cities. With the migration worldwide, proper methods should be carried out by local governments in order to maintain high quality of urban lifestyle. Firstly, it is necessary for governments to increase budgets in housing and facilities construction to meet the increasing demand of climbing population. More affordable housing will provide a healthy living environment for residents. Building new houses and facilities and maintaining existing ones also create jobs in the workforce market. With proper employment rate, the crime rate might be reduced. In addition, investing money in public transport system improvement will relieve the traffic congestions and attract more residents to use public transport rather than driving their own cars. Therefore, the number of private cars will reduce on the road and traffic congestion will be relieved. In conclusion,  the quality of life in large cites is affected by increasing migration from rural area to urban cities due to above reasons. These factors are able to be resolved by proper civic plans. Therefore, in order to maintain the inner city living environment, city governments should increase the budgets in housing and facilities construction and improvement of public transport.