The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this.

It is better to prevent health issues than to seek ways to treat them and this should be included in a government’s budget. This essay agrees that matters that affect well being should be prevented rather than being treated. Firstly, this essay will discuss how living healthy can boost productivity and secondly, it will discuss how it will reduce government spending. To begin, if individuals avoid contacting disease, they will have no need to go to the clinics and they will have more time for productive activities. Drugs and other treatments given to a sick person can prevent the person from going about their normal business; hence, it is better not to fall ill at all than to waste precious time resting from the effect of the medication. For example, I was sick earlier this week and I had to go to the hospital where I was given some drugs. These medications made me weak, to the extent that I had to miss some days at work; this means I was not productive during the period I was resting. In addition, healthy living can save the state authority a lot in the area of health care services. The state authority operates hospitals for her citizens; when people are ill, they visit these care centres. The more people get sick in a country, the higher the cost of servicing these hospitals. Therefore, if the amount of illness is curbed, government’s expenditure on health care will decrease. A recent survey carried out by nurses in Lagos State University Teaching Hospital (LASUTH), showed that during periods of epidemic outbreaks, government spending rises drastically. In conclusion, instead of seeking medical assistance, it is in the best interest of people not to fall ill at all.