The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality.

‘Born as a woman’ is not a problem anymore. In recent year, women already have a big role in society. In contrast, people still debate that equality of gender is hard to pursuing. I will outline this issue with reasons and examples. We have seen the power of women in many issues. In term of education, women have the right to learn every subject that they want to. Take the number of women students as an example. In many departments, women are more dominant in number than men students. Not only in the term of students but also lecturers and university’s bureaucracy, many women have crucial positions as men’s do, such as becoming vice-president of a university. In addition, women’s role is clearly seen in the political term. Nowadays, in Indonesia, at least 3 women become ministers in the centre government. It shows that the society has received the presence of women. A clearer example that we can see is women’s role in a family. In the past, women only took care of their children, cooked for their family, and cleaned the house, as housewives. But today, women do greater activities. They become housewife and career-women at the same time. Even in many cases, women become breadwinner while their husbands remain as househusbands. It is true that in some cases, in some parts of the world, there are still distinguish between man and woman, but it cannot be denied that woman has been more appreciated nowadays. To sum up, I must say that women achieved gender equality in many ways of life such as education, work chance, and family. Based on these arguments, I tend to disagree that societies cannot claim to achieve gender equality because there are different evidence in real life defeat this view.