The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality.

The existence of women in major sections of the society has given big changes over the past 50 years in many societies across the world. However, these societies cannot state that they have obtained gender equality. I personally disagree with this statement based on several facts that happen in my country. In Indonesia, since the action that has been done by R. A. Kartini (an activist of gender equality many years ago), many people show appreciation to women due to what women can actually do for their country in general. As it seen for the past 15 years, the positions of women in politics are increasing. Indonesia's people have experienced  being led by a woman as their president, women as mayors in some cities and also many activists today are women. This shows that people have accepted and can claim that they already gained gender equality to a larger extent. Moreover, not only in politics and social actions that women made changes on but also in education and entrepreneurship. There are numbers of women who get into higher and higher level of education. We can see this phenomenon in schools or colleges where the percentages of female students are higher than male students. It contradicts the situation in the past in which only males could experience formal education. The number of women in charge also increases in entrepreneurship. There are many CEO or manager spread inside this country from small company to the biggest one. To sum up, it is true that there are still many violent happen against women, prostitution including underage women and also murder cases to women all over the world that indicating inequality of gender, but the percentage of women in politics and other aspects of society has proven that society has claimed the achievement of gender equality.