The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Obesity is one of the major problems among the pupils in recent times. The number of children suffering from excess weight issues have been significantly increased, especially in the western countries. Having an improper diet and lack of exercise has caused this problems and if this trend continues it will affect the health and make them fatigue. One of the major causes of such problem is due to improper or door diet habits. Many pupils in the western countries are consuming foods, which are unhealthy and excessively high in bad cholesterol. As a result, they are suffering from obesity related health issues like thyroid and heart diseases. For instance, a recent survey shows that oily and fatty foods such as pizzas and fries are among the top unhealthy foods which are primarily responsible for heart attacks. Thus poor diet leads to severe health issues among the obese children. Nevertheless, some of them maintain a healthy diet, they too are among the victims of obesity due to lack of exercise. Unlike pupils in Asian countries, those in western countries have a less physical exercise at school. As a result, those with excess weight, feel fatigued and could not concentrate on studies. For example, a report shows, schools with no sports or physical activities perform poorly in academics. Thus obese pupils who lack physical activity feel tired and perform poorly in studies. To conclude, if proper precautions are not taken overweight issues will deteriorate problems like heart diseases and feeling fatigue. This can be avoided by maintaining a healthy diet and regular exercise.