Some people think that foreign visitors should be charged more than locals when they visit cultural and tourist attractions in a country. -Partially agree.

In many places, local people had to get used to living surrounded by tourists, although both enjoy the same places either natural or cultural value, the tourist must pay more money to access and visit the same attractions. I partially agree with this statement because foreign people should pay the same rates in certain activities. One of the main reasons why I consider that tourists should pay the same rates is because, the more visitor they have, many more possibilities there are to enrich the cultural value of the destination, therefore, having more tourists who appreciate the vast historical value also benefits the country from an economic perspective. For example, museums, cathedral or famous buildings promote the country as a tourist destination and positively affect local markets to be visited by tourists and increase the local economy. In addition, the tourism industry relies on overseas visitors coming to the country to see the main popular places in order to have found for maintenance. For example, Sagrada Familia Cathedral in Barcelona, Spain helps to promote the nation’s cultural heritage, but if travellers realized that they would have to pay extra fees regardless of nationality, they would perhaps not go to that country on holidays or vacations. Instead of raising prices in the entrance, the government should subsidize the maintenance price of the venues in order to increase the number of temporary visitors. On the other hand, global tourism is destroying the environment and cultural identities due to tourist’s irresponsible behaviour. Ecological places are marred because the capacity in destinations exceeds the limit and it affects the natural resources than hardly can be repaired by human efforts. For example, the Peruvian government granted new measures to attempt to limit the tourist number going to Machu Picchu, from July last year visitors are only able to access with an official tour guide. As can be seen, there are multiple alternative options to preserve ecologically resources rather than the limit to increase the price to visit them. I believe that would be counterproductive that tourist pays more than residents. However, new ways to improve responsible tourism need to be implemented in order to preserve the popular attractions without rocket the prices to visit them.