The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping.

It is believed that the amount of traffic in cities today can only be reduced by cutting down the demand for people to leave home for work, study, and shopping. Personally, I disagree that this is the best way to tackle this problem in modern society. Firstly, it is difficult to do all the work from home. Doctors, engineers, teachers, sales managers and many other professionals are expected to attend their offices and meet customers and carry out their duties. For example, medical professionals cannot examine and diagnose individuals specifically if they implement at home and try to listen to the symptom of their patients by mobile phone. Similarly, many specialized classes, like that, include field trips and practical experiments, and an online course can not provide such facilities. Digital classrooms cannot be compared with classroom teaching, and the essence of the objects can only be determined from the pictures on a laptop or tablet. Furthermore, it can cause health problems like diabetes, obesity or hypertension, if somebody is confined to one place for a long to avoid being outside for their daily needs and professional duties. This would ultimately contribute to various psychiatric and social-cultural issues. In certain cases, for instance, a lack of communication with others may cause depression. To put it another way, the risks of that they need to fly will outweigh its benefits. In my opinion, there are other ways to reduce traffic in cities. The government should encourage people to use public transportations. There are some forms of public transportations that are very convenient and can help to reduce the traffic problem now, such as buses or by cycle. In addition to this, the government could inform people about the effects of using cars on the environment. In this way, people will cooperate with the government while they know about high qualified public transport and harmful effects of cars’ fume. In conclusion, it could be one approach to provide people convenient ways by which they need less travelling, however, may be this approach would not work or be provided on these days. Of course, there are several steps which can be taken by governments such as improving public transport and roads or setting some rules for using cars.