The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping.

In a bid to reduce traffic in cities, it is suggested that people should travel less often to their workplace, school, and college or for leisure activities like shopping. Although, I disagree with the suggestion as not everything is accessible at a person’s doorstep. To begin with, the places we commute to like our workplace and our educational institutions help us associate with people. Since, a human being are social beings an association with the other is necessary. In various places and stages interactions are a common phenomena, which helps gain acquaintances and friends. The office we go to give us income to earn our daily bread. The educational institute aids knowledge, which in turn help to get a job in a workplace. The money earned can then be spent on shopping for various goods and materials. All of the above activities go hand-in-hand. If the public becomes immovable, they will have severe health conditions. One of the leading health conditions is obesity. Today, it beats cancer to be the cause of most deaths in the USA. Traffic in front of such a dreadful disease seems like a trivial issue, as human life is vital. There is no doubt that the pollution caused by traffic has adverse effects on the environment but eradication of traffic cannot be the sole solution. In conclusion, solutions as usage of public transport and bicycles should be given and incorporated.