The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping.

Urbanization, the essential process of our modern world, gives many opportunities for people as well as causes issues related to space shortage. And traffic congestion is one of the biggest of this. Some people believe that movement demand reduction is the only solution for the problem. I do not agree with this opinion. First of all, I am convinced that the people`s need of travel is impossible to reduce, because the importance of being socialized is huge. Communication and social networks building help people to find a job, to make new friends, not to experience loneliness and just to feel themselves alive. Moreover, active lifestyle can prevent a number of diseases, such as heart diseases, hypertension, obesity and even depression. On the other hand, to improve the situation refers to traffic jams in cities government offers alternative ways, which I believe are more reasonable and human needs-oriented. For example, the mayor of Warsaw made all public transport free of charge to encourage citizens using their private cars less. The instance of Oslo and London shows that toll roads and paid parking increased fee in downtown reduces the traffic. Some people practice car sharing, which sounds to be a wise idea, because it helps to save money on buying fuel, time on driving in turn, and decrease a number of vehicles on roads. In conclusion, according to viewpoint of mine the limitation of human`s need in travelling does not work. There are implemented more suitable methods, which allow reducing traffic in cities, and to leave people the ability to be mobile.