The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extend

Road safety has become a measure concern these days. Whether rigorous penalties would be the most effective way to deter driving offences, is a very controversial issue. Although, I second that the implementation of harsher punishments could be the best solution for hindering the road accident, there are other methods which should be applied by the government for making people conscious about road safety. First and foremost, the implementation of rigid rules regarding road safety proved to be fruitful. For example, in Vietnam, the citizens are punished for not wearing a helmet from $20 to $40. Fearing for this penalty, people never put off their helmet during driving. Moreover, if the government does not make that hard laws for the would-be offenders, it is possible that the law breakers would conveniently break the law. For instance, in Singapore, before 1980, the government did not impose any law regarding road casualties, which had caused many lives meaningless for their families and society. When the authority saw this, they started new rules and regulations which were the most effective in the long run. Similarly, people have started to think about more measures that should be taken to minimize road injuries of death, regardless of the implementation of various types of law. The most effective one could be that the government should heighten people’s awareness by the media. This, eventually, could help people to understand not only the bad impact of not abiding by rules such as wearing a helmet at the time of driving, maintaining traffic signals, but it also makes people conscious about their lives. The other measure is that encouraging people to use the public transport such as bus, train, et Cetra. In conclusion, while it is true that rigorous penalties are the key to impede road accidents, raising people’s consciousness and encouraging people to use public transports, in my opinion, could also be the best methods.