The number of people being sent to prison is increasing year on year While some people believe prisons are the best way to tackle crime others suggest that community service is successful

It is argued that gaining access into the university is tasking for both the well-to-do and the poor. This essay agrees that the wealthy and the less-privileged face challenges securing entrance into colleges. This is so because universities give admission on merit and also the number of spaces available is far less than the total number of applicants Firstly, one major criterion for university entry is academic merit. Regardless of how much money students have, their grades have to be of a minimum standard, depending on the course of choice, before being considered for a slot in the school. The college administration has no first-hand information of the financial buoyancy of the students, admissions are handed out solely based on examination results of the students. For example, in Nigeria, admission criteria for all universities are based on two examinations WAEC and JAMB and the cutoff marks vary, depending on the course of study. Medicine and accounting for instance stand at 80% and 50% respectively. Secondly, the number of available spaces in the universities is limited in comparison to the amount of students that apply. There are massive amounts of students sending out an application to colleges every year, this includes the children from affluent homes and those that are not, but unfortunately, the capacity of the schools in regards to infrastructure are not many. As a result of this, there is an equal reduction in the chances of both groups of people gaining entrance into these schools. For example, in 2019, Nigeria witnessed 66, 000 university applicants, but only 30000 students were taken which accounts for just 45% of all the applicants. In conclusion, the people that are financially buoyant face the same difficulty as those who are not in order to secure a seat in colleges and this is due to the fact that they both have to succeed academically to make the merit list and also face the challenge of inadequate availability of spaces in the schools.