In some countries, people who commit less serious crimes are made to undertake community service* instead of a prison sentence. Some people believe that all people who have committed a crime should be sent to prison. *compulsory wo

Some individuals opine that the most vital aspect when designing a building is its function rather than its outer aesthetics. I somewhat agree with this viewpoint as although a good-looking building enhances the beauty of its surroundings, without meeting its basic function, it would be a waste. On the one hand, a building that has an appealing appearance may be a source of beautification of its locality that may be able to encourage people to visit it as it may serve as an incentive for tourism, leisure or work. For example, the bath houses of Brighton are well-known for their bright and colourful designs and promote tourism in the state of Victoria. Similarly, attractive university campuses and office spaces are deemed to be popular study and work destinations among young adults. However, the function of a building is of pivotal importance when considering its design. A building needs to accommodate the needs of its owners, residents and patrons. Specifically, one basic necessity of any building is safety, that is, it needs to be sturdy and durable. However, nowadays, there are many fashionable styles of buildings that compromise their stability and safety. For example, in India, an architectural firm gained popularity for its one-of-a-kind designs and, a few years later the designs were claimed as unsafe when many of the buildings collapsed during a minor earthquake. As a result, several resources were wasted and many lives were endangered in light of the importance given to an outward appearance of the buildings over their basic functionality. In conclusion, I agree to some extent that the purpose of a building is of utmost importance, instead of the external aspects when designing it, as without serving the primary functions, a building would be a waste of essential resources and even risky.