The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children's health.

Recently, the debate whether the increase in fast food outlets or lack of parents' supervision of their children is the main reason behind the growing percentage of obesity has caused a ruckus among myriads of parents as well as citizens. Supporters will prevail, that it is the parents' fault as they are not paying attention to their children's health; however opponents will disagree-claiming that children may be going out alone with their friends so it is due to the growing number of this type of food. Relying on both perspectives that will be discussed in this essay, you will be able to choose where you stand. Regarding this thought-provoking issue, those who are in favour of blaming parents will have a vast plethora of proofs to mention. First and foremost, not only are parents expected to track their children's actions daily to check that everything is going fine, but they also warn their youngsters that they should not eat unhealthy food more than once a week. For example, a punishment, which is agreed upon from both the children and the parents, should be held if the child ate fast food more than once a week. Although others may adapt to different stand point stating that they should be given the freedom to choose what they want, supporters will acquiesce that children should be coerced to do the right thing in their early life until it becomes a habit! Despite these obvious proofs, one cannot turn a blind eye on the incontestable blames that should be directed to these restaurants' owners. The first and the most salient aspect is that not only do their menus include very limited range of healthy food as salads, but they are also overpriced in order to discourage customers to buy them. As an illustration, it cannot be denied that even though salads may have a great taste and delicious look, their photos were rarely added in the menus to attract people. In other words, restaurants' owners will find it superfluous to care about his customers' well-being as long as he is generating profit from them. In conclusion, I have a resolute unwavering advocate that they both should be blamed for children being overweight. This problem can be tackled by parents being more concerned about their kids and these outlets should offer diet food in their menus, because this generation's well being is the bedrock for the country's growth and to reach the zenith of SUCCESS!