The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children's health.

According to the latest report by the World Health Organisation, child obesity is one of the growing cause of concern in America, Canada and Europe. With one in every three children obese or overweight, as compared to one in every ten children worldwide, developing countries face an imminent threat to its young population's health. Such situations, usually arise when a child consumes too many sugary drinks and dishes that contains more fat and carbohydrates with no physical exercise. When these children grow, they face many complicated health problems such as cardiovascular disease, diabetes etc. This is due to the fact that during young age, children build up immunity; and as they grow older, their immunity weakens. So it is common for an adult, who was an obese child, to fall ill more often in comparison to an adult who had a regular childhood. But, some people believe that parents are not too careful about what their kids eat. This is true because of the fact that many families nowadays prefer to order online or prepare instant food for dinner. Although, such things taste delicious, they still lack the nutritional value of a balanced diet. Thus, kids nowadays feel that it is perfectly safe to skip home cooked meals and eat at food outlets that offer more tasty and mouth watering dishes. Hence, it becomes crucial for parents to educate their children about healthy eating habits and the ill effects unhealthy eating. Thus, we can conclude that moderate amount of fast food along with physical exercises and a balanced nutritional diet is necessary to prevent obesity among children.