Ordinary people try to copy famous people either reading magazines or watching TV. Why do they do this. Do you think it is a good idea to copy famous people.

Rich and famous personalities have power to influence societies. Common citizens eulogize them and often try to imitate their actions and style. I believe that following a known celebrity is good or bad depending upon the idol we choose. This essay will discuss the reason behind this influence and elaborate upon my opinion; followed by a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, common people are greatly influenced by celebrities. Their success stories and lifestyle attract the commoners who believe them to be living a king’s life. People often believe that the rich and famous are living a dream life, a feat that is so rare to achieve. Though, the influence is more on youngsters who eulogize them and tends to copy their idiosyncrasies. Additionally, the advent of social media like Instagram, Snapchat, and Facebook has attracted commoners who try to imitate a known personality for ephemeral fame. This has both advantages and disadvantages. People who follow role models and celebrities who contribute to the society, get to learn about their struggles and good habits. For instance, many children in India, were influenced by the autobiography of Dr. APJ Kalam, who inspired young minds to dream big. On the contrary, people who imitate celebrities for their fashion and lavish lifestyle, often fail in real life. These people become obsessed with following the latest fashion and purchasing gadgets that their role model owns, often burning a hole in their pocket. To illustrate, a recent study by a leading media house in India indicated that 30% of teenagers follow the brand endorsed by famous celebrities and spend 70% of their income on purchasing sundry things endorsed by famous people. To conclude, celebrity culture is not a new concept and has always captivated the mind of young people who often try to replicate their actions. The outcome, however, depends upon the role model we try to step in.