The news media have become too much influential in people's lives nowadays and this is a negative development.

In today’s modern world, the news media has been a matter of great concern. It is true to say that the new trend has adversely affected everyone daily life, however, perhaps its merits outweigh its drawback. People’s decisions and reasoning have been much affected by the news. Since media persons are highly revered, accordingly, we truly trust the information we receive from media. For example, during the world war II, Hitler used the German media to spread false news about atrocities over German people living in other European countries to mentally prepare everyone in Germany to gear up for war. Therefore, as this example shows, modern news media representing the values of their owners, societies and governments, tend to report wars with a bias, the readers sometimes detrimentally affected by the fake news. Besides any potentially misleading information, the news media have equipped the world with the information it needs for better survival. As people in the East get posted on what is going around the West and vice versa, cultural awareness is promoted. School children learn to appreciate cultural differences across the globe, hence their greater tolerance as they mature. Entrepreneurs get to comprehend their next target market and how to secure it both culturally and economically. This is well illustrated by the evidence that Starbucks would not have entered India had it not known of the country' s growing taste for coffee. Also, online news channels help to distribute news at Hermes' speed, revealing social adversities and praising good deeds. In conclusion, It is unfair to label news media as harmful to people' s lives, as in fact, they have contributed to social prosperity.