The most important consideration when choosing any career or job is having a high income.

Undoubtedly, there is plethora of criteria that should be considered while choosing a career. While I accept the idea that high salary should not be underestimated, I agree that other factors are of same importance as money for some reasons which will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, high income is of utmost importance for fulfilling one’s basic needs in both present and future time. To illustrate, with a high salary, people can afford the life they dream of, for example, a descent house of their own, a car, a private healthcare and much more. This extravagant lifestyle is unattainable with low salary jobs. In addition, earning more money throughout early work life means more secured future. For instance, my uncle used to work as a physician in highly reputable organizations in the Gulf during his career life, and with his savings, he was able to pursue his dream to travel around the world after his retirement. From another angle, I am convinced that not only is high salary significant in opting for a career but there are also two other measures of paramount importance. Firstly, the work atmosphere which ought to be encouraging in order for employees can have the opportunity to be more creative. To exemplify, some corporations, Nestle for example, tend to announce the employee of the month based on specific criteria which creates an ethical competition between employees, and this would definitely lead to the progression of the staff and the enterprises as well. Moreover, the working hours is an indispensable factor while accepting any job offer, as some demanding jobs have unsociable working hours, weekend and night shifts for example, which may contribute to elevating the risk of some illnesses such as high blood pressure. To conclude, although it is true that earning high salary should not be neglected, I agree that other measures have to be taken in consideration while applying for a certain job.