The media should limit how much bad news they report because it discourages people from doing activities which usually involve very little risk.

Nowadays, the coverage of media involves violent crime and natural disaster. Although restricting negative information on the media can prevent people from trapping into anxiety and panic, I believe that the mass media should inform people about what happened in the world and their communities. There is no doubt that the media should select appropriate news when they announce the public. This is because the media spread many sensational crimes and exaggerate reports to attract their audiences and maximize their profits. As a result, ordinary people lacking the judging ability will feel insecure and pessimistic about the neighbourhood they reside, meanwhile, there will be distrust and suspicion among the public. However, banning all the bad news reported on the media is unrealistic and unfeasible, and the purpose of imposing restrictions on bad news is not to encourage people to participate in risky activities. If there is no source of negative information, people might indulge in an illusion that the world is safe and peaceful, so when they face impending diseases, they can feel overwhelmed. A good example of communication is America’s centres for Disease Control, which promptly issued a clear and unambiguous warning about the outbreak of pandemics and some precautions on February 25th, and this report has prevented people from involving in some risky activities, such as going outside without wearing a mask and join a public event. In conclusion, the main aim of limiting bad news revealed on the reporting is to prepare the public for upcoming or potential danger, instead of spreading mistrust and fear. Therefore, the media should be aware of reports’ influences on the public and restricting them appropriately.