Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. with this statement?

It is thought that the only relevant and fair way to rate the students, is a formal passive type of examination, despite there is another method to assess them, which is by frequent assessment of their performance in workshops and how they perform a project. Although both methods have their odds and cons, but I partially agree with formal examination and I will discuss my point of view in this essay. Firstly, formal examination provides an easy, unified and a rapid way of assessment. This kind of exams would test your ability to recall information, so the more you have memorized the more you would be liable to get high marks. However, there are a few disadvantages of this method. The first and the foremost is, this method could be unfair in sometimes, as you only can perform the exam once, this one particular time may not suit your state. For example, you might have been sick, and that of course affects the way you perform in your exam, and because this is the only time you will be tested, therefore you could be underestimated or improperly assessed. Another point regarding the objectives of this method is that only your ability to recall will be valued, bypassing your ability to create and work. In favour of continuous assessment, It is a very effective way to estimate the ability of the student to perform the skills he have learned. In contrast to the other mentioned method, this paradigm is much fairer, as it does not rely on one test but it lasts till the end of your course. But in fact, this method could be more expensive and time consuming. In a nutshell, each method has its benefits and drawbacks. However we can use a mix of both sorts in order to get the most accurate rating for a student.