The media should include more stories which report good news.

Some people believe that news channels should focus more on covering good news rather than bad news. While the benefit of positive stories cannot be refused, however, I will challenge this school of thoughts for several reasons. Granted, one might argue that good news always has positive effects on the general public. This is predicated on the assumption that these kind of news help people to maintain a good mental state, which create more positive energy. . . . However this line of reasoning is not sound since not all the stories with good content are attractive enough for everyone, no matter how meaningful they might be, some viewers even find them very boring. Take “Nguoi tu te” which is a program used to be broadcasted on VTV3 as an example. This program only talked inspiring stories about people who maintain a positive outlook on life, even in the face of adversity. As a result of failing to attract viewers, this show had been closed after only 2 months since the day it was aired. On the other hand, reporting tragic news such as civil war, natural disaster, climate change and terrorist attack, for example, may sadden the viewers and make them have a bad impression in their mind, but these atrocious events still are a part of reality in the Earth that we cannot ignore. Although some sensational journalisms may at time exaggerate, it is important to equip the citizens with much-need knowledge that can help them stay aware of countless problems and take actions accordingly. Having an objective view towards life is crucial for any healthy development of the society and economy. In conclusion, news reporters should give emphasis on telecasting bad news instead of good news.