The man expresses his opinion about the changes in the physical education requirements for students. State his opinion, and explain the reasons he gives for that opinion.

There are different opinions about the role of history in our present life. While a lot of people insist that there would be nothing to gain from doing research on what happened in the past, I suppose history does teach us precious lessons. On the one hand, I understand why some people think it is pointless to learn from the past. First, history is the field that is rarely used in people’s lives, and therefore, they would rather pay attention to science or technology than focus on something that brings no relevant values to the present or future. Second, each historical event is interpreted differently based on different facts and perspectives, so there is no guarantee of the accuracy of information obtained. If, in many cases, historical documents were falsified, it would cause tremendous damage to people’s culture and religion. On the other hand, I would argue that studying from past events is essential for two principal reasons. History helps young people have thorough insights into their own culture and how their country has evolved. This is particularly true in case of Vietnam. The youth need to understand how their ancestors defended the nation against intruders throughout many dynasties and maintain a sovereign and free country, which would develop their patriotism and pride. Furthermore, history depicts the mistakes made in the past, hence helping people to avoid similar ones in the future. In conclusion, acquiring knowledge about historical events, although redundant according to some, seems to be of great value to me.