The main purpose of a public library is to provide books, and they shouldn’t waste the limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, video, and DVDs. with this statemen

Libraries are great resources for people to seek knowledge and information. Thanks to the improvement of technology that public libraries are applying hi-tech media in order to serve customers. However, some people disagree with the use of computers and videos due to expensive costs. In my opinion, I strongly believe that the use of technology in libraries should continue because of numerous benefits. It may be true to some extent that a great amount of money should be allocated to equip libraries with hi-tech media. However, the advantages that it brings along with are significantly undeniable. Firstly, computers, hardware and software are great storages of books and information. Only with a small disc can librarians store thousands of books, articles, magazines and the like. Moreover, the resources also last long, even a hundred years just by copying or duplicating. On the contrary, books can just be kept for a short period and they consume lots of places as well. Secondly, by using technology in managing that librarians can easily access the system. It is extremely useful since it can also link with other public library systems worldwide. In terms of library-goers, applying hi-tech media in libraries can help people feel more interesting; therefore, their appetite for reading books will generally increase. DVDs and videos provide a lively atmosphere with sound and images. Additionally, it also assists in the process of knowledge acquisition. In addition, software for studying foreign languages attract a great number of citizens, especially children. Not only by reading books but also by interacting with games, songs and videos can children reinforce their lessons acquired from schools. From all the above-mentioned, libraries should increase the use of hi-tech appliances in both managing and serving public people. Authorities should allocate a suitable amount of money on updating and renovating old-fashioned public libraries.