the line graph indicates the values of Australia's trade with China, Japan, and the US from 2002 to 2008.

In recent years, the number of people travelling to different countries has increased manifold. According to one school of thought, tourists should respect the customs of the visiting country and behave accordingly while others are of the opinion that the host nation should accept cultural diversity. In this essay, I would like to discuss both the views with examples and give my own opinion. Every nation has its own customs and traditions that make them unique in the world. These customs and traditions are their identity. It is always good to embrace the local practices while visiting a new place so that one can feel welcome and enjoy their time to the fullest. It also helps the tourists to learn new things which can make them understand the world little better. For instance, In India, covering the head and taking off the shoes while entering any Hindu or Sikh temple is a very common practice. If the travellers follow this custom, then they will be treated as a part of their community, but if the rules are not followed, then they can hurt the sentiments and emotions of the local people. On the contrary, when tourists visit a foreign land, they bring along their own rich culture. This helps in adding divergence to the existing culture and traditions of the country. For example, a few decades back, Parsis and Jews came to India as visitors. They brought their own culture here and the people of India embraced it with open hearts and this is how India has become a land of cultural variance. India is one of the countries in the world where so much cultural diversity can be seen and people are enjoying it. Eventually, it can be recapitulated that although the visitors should try to follow the customs that can otherwise hurt the feelings or emotions of the local people and learn new things, but on the other hand, the host country should accept the new customs and traditions with open arms to enrich their cultural diversification and become a nation that respects each and every culture in the world. I personally believe that both the tourists and the host country should be able to accept both the existing and new culture wholeheartedly.